Spotlight: Bryan Benitez at the U.S. Dept. of Labor

Bryan Benitez is a criminal justice major at FIU. Currently, he is in Washington, D.C. interning with the Contract Compliance Department at the U.S. Dept. of Labor. Bryan hopes to one day work in federal law enforcement at agencies like the FBI or CIA, and considers his internship a critical stepping-stone in getting to where he wants to go through early hands-on experience in the field.

Here’s what he had to say about his summer experience in the capital:

What does your day-to-day work look like?

My daily tasks can vary a lot. Today, for example, I was making case folders first, and then I worked on translating some interviews we did earlier in the week from Spanish to English. Aside from creating case folders, I work a lot with Microsoft Excel, basic data entry, and data manipulation. I work on imputing demographics into our systems. Auditing is a big part of the job as well. Once we finish with our interviews, we review companies’ files to make sure that they follow policy.

Which of your skills are most put to use for this internship?

The number one skill you definitely have to have for this job is communication skills. You have to talk to employees and be personable; you also have to make sure you don’t input your bias when asking questions or you may get skewed answers in evaluation interviews.

What has been the highlight of your experience?

The investigations! It’s so cool to be a part of these investigations since I want to eventually work in federal law enforcement. During the investigations, we sit down with employees to have one-on-one conversations and make sure employers are doing their jobs correctly. Next week, my internship is taking me on a weekend on-site investigation in Baltimore, which is pretty awesome. I’m going to get conduct some interviews myself.

What is next for you career-wise?

My dream job is to be a special agent. Maybe FBI or CIA—you name it. After school, I want to explore the idea of committing four years to active-duty military service. I have a certificate in national security from FIU, and that’s really what I want to focus on. Maybe I’ll even be the next James Bond!

 

Interested in living and working or interning in D.C.? Contact FIU Career & Internship Success Manager Ethan Starkey at ethan.starkey@fiu.edu. To learn more about FIU in D.C., go to washingtondc.fiu.edu or follow us on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram.

One thought on “Spotlight: Bryan Benitez at the U.S. Dept. of Labor

Leave a Reply

